Top 8 Talkwalker Alternatives

There’s no doubt that Talkwalker is a powerful social media listening tool.

But at a hefty starting price tag of $9,600 USD for the most basic plan, it’s simply not an option for most marketers’ budgets.

Don’t worry though. There are several Talkwalker alternatives out there that offer social listening, social media analytics, and the reporting tools you need—with even better ROI for your business.

Here are the top 8 alternatives to Talkwalker:

Without further ado… let’s take a look at each tool & what are the features they’re offering:

1. Keyhole

Keyhole is a powerful Talkwalker alternative available at a fraction of the cost.

Keyhole’s hashtag analytics and social media monitoring tools allow you to keep a finger on the pulse of your brand and your industry as a whole.

With Keyhole, you can measure the impact of your social media campaigns, hashtags, and influencers. You can also track your competitors and any content that’s trending for your targeted hashtags and keywords.

Keyhole’s social media reports are easy to use, visually appealing, and easily shareable with your clients.

keyhole dashboard - new branding

Neil Patel says, “This tool (Keyhole) does a lot of things others can’t. And as a bonus, it’s extremely user-friendly.”

Pricing: Keyhole offers a free trial and custom pricing plans.

2. Sprout Social

While a little pricier than Keyhole, Sprout Social is another affordable alternative to Talkwalker.

Set up the Smart Inbox to bring mentions, messages, and tags from all social media channels into one central hub. Instead of switching between networks to track notifications, you can prioritize interactions by filtering and tagging options. 

You can also set up Sprout keyword searches to track the most important conversations around your brand and product mentions. They also have a Sprout “Trend Report” on Twitter performance to know where your efforts are working. The report has a breakdown of the most widely used hashtags, trending topics, and popular public figures in your industry. 

Sprout Social offers rich social analytics, engagement tracking, listening capabilities, and publishing tools.

sprout social

Sprout Social’s collaboration and automation capabilities are a nice bonus, too.

Pricing: Sprout Social offers a 30-day trial and 3 pricing tiers. Their plans range from $99-249 per user.

3. Brand24

Brand24 is another lightweight Talkwalker alternative.

Their platform offers a live feed of your mentions to track your conversations. They also have a discussion volume chart to track unexpected spikes in brand mentions and publicity.

brand24

They also provide mention analytics, influence score, sentiment analysis, and a variety of alert options.

Pricing: Brand24 offers a 14-day trial and 3 pricing tiers. Their Personal plan starts at $49/month and their highest-tiered plan is $199/month.

4. Mention

Mention’s social media listening and publishing platform is the final Talkwalker alternative on our list.

Mention offers a feed of your brand mentions, analytics of industry audiences, and reports that allow you to measure the impact of your marketing efforts.

mention

They also offer an interface for social media publishing and scheduling on every platform, including helpful preview tools to verify a post’s layout.

Pricing: Mention offers 4 pricing tiers, including a free plan for one user. Their individual plans start around $25/month and their enterprise plans start at $450/month.

5. Meltwater

The Talkwalker alternative Meltwater is like a Swiss-Army knife of social media monitoring tools.

The key Meltwater features include unlimited keyword search capability, sentiment analysis, gathering competitor intelligence, influencer management, and crisis management over an easy-to-use interface. 

The key Meltwater features include unlimited keyword search capability, sentiment analysis, gathering competitor intelligence, influencer management, and crisis management over an easy-to-use interface. 

meltwater

Be it a small in-house team or an agency collaborating with clients; the all-in-one workflow capability facilitates collaboration by keeping everyone informed and on track. 

Pricing: Customized pricing. 

6. Falcon.io

The marketing platform Falcon.io is a Talkwalker alternative used by social media marketers for social media listening, customer engagement, and audience management.

By collecting data across 100 million online sources, Falcon.io’s social media listening features include managing your social channels, monitoring mentions across social media, forums, and review sites, detecting spikes and drops in your data, sentiment analysis and benchmarking performance.

falcon

This unified social media and customer experience platform is used by medium to enterprise companies to listen, publish, advertise, engage and measure social media activity. 

Pricing: They have two pricing plans. For small businesses, $108 is billed per seat per month and the pricing is customized for enterprises.

7. Zoho Social

Zoho Social allows you to manage multiple social media channels, collaborate with your team, schedule posts and monitor keywords from a single dashboard. 

With this social media monitoring software, you can get a real-time stream of updates from your audience across all social media platforms you manage through Zoho Social. 

zoho social

Also, listening to numerous posts about your brand can get overwhelming. That’s where you can build your social media listening dashboard to track and manage conversations. 

They have a dedicated message inbox where you can manage all direct messages from your audience on Twitter and Facebook in a chat-style interface. Lastly, you can also manage a contact directory to discover what your followers and people you follow are saying on social media about your brand. 

Pricing: Along with a free trial, Zoho Social has four plans you can choose from, ranging from $8.33 to $150 per month.

8. NUVI

NUVI is a Talkwalker alternative that gathers real-time social intelligence built on a proprietary language engine.  

Like all social media management tools, you can use NUVI to publish and schedule posts, analyze your social media activities and monitor the performance of your marketing campaigns. 

NUVI

NUVI leads the pack because it gathers all your social media data in real-time and displays it as visualizations that help you make decisions quickly. Lastly, NUVI helps you understand your customers, competitors, and industry better with highly accurate data.

Pricing – Custom pricing. 


Looking to accurately track your social media campaigns? Prove their impact and ROI? Produce beautiful marketing reports?

Start your free Keyhole trial today or book a demo with the Keyhole expert.

A Guide To Curated Content: Everything You Need To Know

Content curation means more than rummaging through the internet for what to post on a slow day. It’s a whole process that, when done right, can do wonders for your reach and audience engagement. This guide will cover the basics of content curation as well as the benefits it can bring (spoiler alert: a lot).

What does curated content mean?

The most basic curated content definition states that it is the process of handpicking external content and sharing it on your channels. The more relevant it is to your audience, the more it will boost your brand’s credibility, as it could help you position your brand as an industry expert. Sounds simple, but there’s more to this process than meets the eye.

How much content should you curate?

While there is no clear consensus on how much content you should curate, as it depends on the specificities of your audience, a general rule of thumb is that you should prioritize quality over quantity. If we were to crunch some numbers, curated content should make up for no more than 20, 30% of your total content shared on social media. 

Why this specific range? The short answer is “content repurposing”. The long answer — well, squeezing a few pieces of curated content between original, in-house content is one thing. Building your entire strategy around content curation is another and doesn’t bode well for your brand’s credibility.

How content curation is beneficial in social media

Content curation on social media can lead to high conversion and engagement rates. This is because you don’t create content from scratch, but research high-quality external content. 

When curating content for social media, one can start by identifying relevant, trending hashtags. This is a great way to find high-quality content, as trending topics naturally attract industry leaders, who will always be quick to jump on the trend and provide their insights.  

As for the benefits themselves, social media requires a constant stream of content to keep engagement rates up, but realistically, pumping high-quality content regularly is simply not feasible. So, curating content effectively keeps the conversation going and helps your brand stay in the spotlight.

How to curate content in the right way

With new trends popping up all the time and everybody jumping on the bandwagon, standing out from the crowd is tougher than ever. This section focuses on curating content the right way and identifying the content relevant to your audience.

Sharing original content is arguably preferable in the long run, but it takes much of the effort, time, money, and creativity. Secondly, there’s no guarantee that your original content will pull in high numbers.

You need to curate content like a pro to keep your audience engaged without much effort. Here are the steps to curate content:

1. Know your audience

Having a keen understanding of your audience is a vital part of the content curation process. Why? Well, it’s quite obvious — people just don’t like seeing things irrelevant to their interests popping up on their feeds.

The primary purpose of curated content is to provide your audience with content that is not only in their niche, but also saves them precious time. In some ways, content curation is more customer-focused than original content, because it addresses specific needs. 

In that respect, Keyhole is a great social listening & brand monitoring tool that will provide you with valuable insights about your audience, and so much more.

Here are a few features that will help you gain a better understanding of your audience and take your content curation efforts to the next level:

  1. A bird’s eye view of your brand and the industry. With Keyhole, you can access your direct and indirect brand mentions in one place, making engaging with your audience in real time easier.
  2. Industry research. Identify industry trends with Keyhole’s QuickTrends. With it, you can aggregate data from all of your social accounts to perform in-depth analysis of your competitors on the spot, right in the dashboard. 
  3. Social listening and account optimization. Use Keyhole’s social listening data to get an in-depth look of your audience and their interests. This will later translate into increased conversions, more followers, better engagement and valuable “intelligence” — such as the best time to post. 

2. Mind the categories

To better curate content, you should create separate categories so that it will be easily shareable. This will prevent sharing duplicate content.

Depending on your brand or industry, you should have a mix of original as well as curated content that engages the audience. 

For example, A company selling agendas (yes, physical; some of us still use them) can have a mix of, well, agenda-specific content — content relating to productivity, time-management, and so on.

Some companies with specific products don’t want to share content related directly to their area of activity, and they focus on content that they believe would be relevant to their audience.

3. The sources

Now that you’ve figured out how much content you want to curate and categorized it accordingly, the next step is to gather sources. 

A general rule of thumb is to not resort to a single source; opt for a variety of sources. Besides the obvious benefit of providing your audience with a continuous stream of fresh content, it can also lead to building relationships with content creators.

You can source your content in the following ways:

  • Simply reshare content that others have published. Curation of user-generated content with relevant hashtags and keywords can encourage people to tag you their posts, thereby mentioning your product too.
  • The other method can be tedious or time-consuming as it involves manual research. For the content you like the most, you can bookmark it and curate it at a later stage. However, instead of using tools, one can also make use of browser extensions to make this process go faster. 

4. Sharing curated content

Once you have followed the previous steps, you’re ready to share your curated content. However, the key here is not to just simply share it, but personalizing it to match the tastes and interests of your audience. Copy-pasting a link and dumping it in your Tweet will only take you so far, and it certainly won’t be on-brand. 

Another issue is properly spacing out the content. As mentioned previously, the best approach is to go for a healthy mix of original content and curated content. 

However, the bigger the brand and your following, the more arduous the publishing logistics will be. 

You can schedule the content to be shared by making use of the original promotional content and then filling the gaps with curated content. This way, your feeds will feel active, and you will also avoid sharing the same content again and again.

To properly space out your content and avoid posting duplicates, you can use dedicated tools such as Planable

Planable is a social media collaboration tool that helps social media teams and marketers create, schedule, and collaborate on social media content. Here are some of the features Planable has that can make the process of content curation easier:

  • A sleek and easy to use social media calendar. With it, teams can not only get a bird’s eye view of their campaign, but also see at a glance the content that has been posted in the past and scheduled for the future. To reschedule posts, all users need to do is dragging and dropping the post in their preferred time slot.
  • Labels. A vital feature for content curation. Teams can assign posts to their relevant labels (ex: productivity; inspirational; marketing etc). This way, teams can identify their content gaps and focus their efforts into a specific topic — and it also helps avoiding posting duplicate content.
  • A collaboration-centric design. Teams can collaborate and share feedback right next to the post, in comments or replies, whether it’s about their Instagram Grid or writing copy for sharing an ebook.

5. Analyze the content

A proper analysis will offer you valuable insights about your content,  its feasibility to rank or engage the audience. If it is not up to the mark, you can tweak the content, personalize, and then share.

Following the steps mentioned above, you can easily curate content, understand your audience as make use of the right tools and strategies to achieve better results. 

The myths about curated content

In this section, we’re going to take a look at a few myths surrounding curated content:

  • Saves time

One of the myths surrounding content curation is that it saves time. In reality, if you do it by the book, it could (potentially) take as much time as creating original content.

Content curation comes down to filtering content, personalizing it, tapping into your (ideally) vast collection of sources, and developing a social media strategy around it. Naturally, this takes time — but the more time and effort you put into this whole process, the more effective it will be.

In other words, if you’re doing it solely to save time — you’re doing it for the wrong reasons.

  • Finding relevant content

Choose your content wisely, because if you share every post or article straightaway, you won’t fetch better results. It can cause more harm than making your brand build its reputation in the long run. 

  • Don’t worry about your content

Content curation is useful for filtering content that can be useful to your audience — but that doesn’t mean you should rely solely on it. Sure, many pages do that, but original content carries more weight in terms of conversion in the long run. As for the curated/original content ratio mentioned above, it’s not a hard and fast rule. Look at content curation as a way to help your audience in a meaningful way and get into the conversation.

The benefits of curated content

  • A trusted source for your audience

Content curation establishes your credibility as a thought leader. If done right, your audience will find in you a trusted source that shares the content of high relevance and value. 

  • Eliminates some of the pressure of creating new content

Earlier, we said that if you curate content to save time, you’re doing it for the wrong reasons — but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t help. The average brand has to juggle multiple social media platforms, plus blogs and other resources. Creating content for them takes a small army, and it’s common knowledge that spreading your team too thin will eventually dilute the quality. 

Therefore, curating content can somewhat alleviate the pressure of having to constantly pump fresh content into your channels. Plus, there’s the benefit of repurposing — which we’ve mentioned earlier in the article.

  • Builds a library of useful resources 

Content curation is not useful only for your audience — it can also help your team become more productive.

I don’t think it’s too controversial to say that the internet, in its vastness of knowledge and resources, can make finding useful information a daunting task. So, high-level content curation focuses both on finding useful resources for your audience, as well as building a knowledge base that your team can tap into later. Examples of resources can include ebooks, industry-relevant studies, articles, blogs, and so forth. And here’s the beautiful thing about this — curation done right can lead to creating original content.

  • Connect with influencers

Curated content produced by influencers can be beneficial for you. By endorsing their content, you can eventually tap into their audience and increase your visibility.

When you share their work, make sure to tag them on social media or by sharing curated blog posts links. This way, you will build solid relationships with influencers and keep them connected to your niche.

  • It can improve SEO

By curating content, you create more opportunities for search engines to get more eyeballs on your channels. While SEO should never be the main goal of content curation — remember that whole “helping your audience and establishing yourself as a thought leader part” — it can help indirectly. The key here is to focus on trending topics and find high-level content produced in that niche. 

Wrap up

And that’ll be it for this guide on content curation. The main takeaway is that content curation should be viewed as a way to provide value to your audience. When done right, content curation can lead to your brand becoming a trusted source of valuable information, which can lead to increased leads and conversions.

5 Ways to Boost Sales with a Data-Driven Social Media Strategy

Data is the new oil. Hardly anything defined Facebook’s success more than its access to user data and its capability to turn it into advertising dollars. With that in mind, let’s explore how proper data use can help you boost sales through social media.

Five ways social media data can take your strategy to the next level

Unlike years past, driving revenue from Social Media now requires more than just boosting your top posts. Thankfully, many different data sources can help with this and there are techniques you can implement to improve social selling. One of which is by utilizing data to craft a better media strategy for your brand. 

1. Improve data quality

It’s no secret that data drives most of our decisions in the social media world. Every day, social managers involved in the social listening struggle with questions like “Are positive sentiments towards our brand growing or going down?” or “Which age cohort is sharing our content?” The quality of the supplied data will define the quality of such decisions, the media strategy, and the correct understanding of data and trends, resulting in better responses. 

The following five metrics define data quality:

  • Accuracy: the data should correctly reflect facts.
  • Completeness: a full range of data that is required to make a decision should be present.
  • Consistency: the data should be consistent over time and with different datasets.
  • Relevancy: the data reviewed should be relevant to the issue at hand.
  • Timeliness: the data should be available at the time when making decisions and reflect recent changes.

When a media strategy is built based on data not fitting the above requirements, it can have disastrous consequences. As IBM estimated, the impact of using bad data in the US is $3 trillion per year. 

In its recent update, iOS 14.5, Apple allowed users to block tracking and now requires them to explicitly agree to data sharing with apps such as Facebook for ad targeting. In this sense, having multiple sources of user data is becoming even more important.  To get better-quality information, you should use all the available sources of robust data, including SEO. For example, we all know about Google Analytics and Search Console to get the SEO data on the websites. However, marketers usually use all-in-one SEO software like SE Ranking that consolidates data to provide a complete site performance report. In addition, these tools can track the ranking of your social media profiles, for example, Youtube channels, and provide you with versatile and relevant SEO data for a better social media strategy.

2. Use cross-channel marketing

The main reason to use cross-channel marketing in your media strategy for business is to ensure your audience is constantly seeing content from your brand. Not convinced? 73% of marketers say that cross-marketing has a great impact on conversion rates. 

For example, if you advertise just on one channel, say, Facebook, you can be seen by customers only when they’re on Facebook. And even then, you’ll get limited frequency as the platform doesn’t want to spam its audience with the same brand’s messages.

However, if you include other media in your campaign, say, Google context ads, Instagram, and Twitter, you can reach more potential customers and thus produce the effect of being “all over the internet” thereby increasing brand recall. 

Using social media analytics for cross-channel campaigns

Social media analytics can deliver some ideas for your cross-channel media strategy. For example, you may see that generally, your offers advertised on social media are converting better within specific age ranges. You can then set up targeting in other channels for exactly these specific segments to not waste your impressions on poorly converting audiences.

When analyzing the performance of a cross-channel campaign, it is very important to understand the campaign’s impact in different channels and adjust when necessary. Pay attention to these social media metrics:

  • Post ranks across all channels: you could start with checking how well your posts are ranking on different platforms and what your best posts are.
  • Posts per channel: most likely, you have a different number of posts and other media content per channel since it could be OK for Instagram to have ten stories per day, but having ten tweets per day may be considered spammy.
  • Post engagement and engagement rate (ER): these metrics are calculated as the number of engagements divided by impressions or reach (per post or overall). Usually, a post with a high engagement rate means that the content went viral. Besides, this metric helps you define the optimal number of posts per day, the best time to post, the type of content that receives the most interactions, etc.
  • Total engagement by platform: identifies which platform your most active audience visits most.
  • Cost-Per-Click (CPC): The price a marketer pays per individual clicks on a paid social media post. Keep in mind, that the average advertising cost differs due to the selected platform. For example, the average CPC in Facebook is $0.97 per click, while LinkedIn CPC is $5.26 per click. So don’t focus on your total spending when choosing the social media platform, but look at CPC to weigh investment efficiency.
  • Social Media Conversion Rate: all in all, this is what we work for. Comparing conversions will indicate the effectiveness of the tested platform to identify your most profitable one for the next campaign.

Optimizing content for different channels

While you may be pushing the same message across different channels, it may bring different outcomes by platform. For example, you may create an interesting post with a lot of textual content with a great engagement rate on Facebook but that doesn’t fit your Instagram. The solution here is to change the format – for example, if you have a text post, you can make infographics out of it or a video explainer. Tools such as Lumen5 convert text into videos, and it’s really easy to do.

Sometimes you may have a great piece of content, like a blog article, but posting it again may seem not such a bright idea. The core of your audience has probably already seen this post before, and viewing it again wouldn’t push them further into the funnel or make them like/share it. In this case, repackaging may be the solution – which simply refers to the process of changing the form while keeping the main message intact. Tools such as Haiku Deck allow you to create an engaging presentation out of your old blog post and share it on socials.

3. Prioritize brand awareness

Generally, it is thought that increasing brand awareness is about building an overall brand image. And for the most part, getting more impressions on your posts will certainly help your targeting audience become more brand-aware. 

However, real brand awareness comes from two sources:

  • Native social media:
    • your brand’s posts;
    • other people’s mentions of your brand.
  • Paid social media:
    • your brand’s ads;
    • PR campaigns;
    • influencers’ posts.

Therefore, the sentiment of mentions or comments should also be measured (as detailed below) to ensure you’re building a positive brand image:

  • Brand mentions: keep track of what’s being said about your brand on social media and manage the brand reputation. A brand monitoring toolkit comes in handy as it helps marketers monitor and react to new mentions in real-time, compare brand analytics to competitors, and convert more leads. It is also helpful during the promotion period as you can collect both positive and negative reviews to analyze the success of users’ interaction with the brand.
  • Brand Sentiments: check what sentiments were in those mentions – positive, negative, or neutral. The easiest way to track brand sentiments is via social listening analytics by Keyhole that collects information about hashtags and keywords and monitors online conversations. It incredibly helps track mentions of the brand, measure the sentiments, and evaluate overall brand health.
  • Audience Growth Rate: tracks how quickly your brand gains followers. This rate divides new followers into the total audience. 
  • Impressions vs. reach: how many times brand mentions appeared in people’s timelines vs. how many people made a click.
  • Social share of voice: percentage of your brand mentions in social media to the defined group of competitors in the market. It helps to determine competitive advantage, evaluate campaign effectiveness, and measure customer engagement.
  • Conversions: measure how many desired actions resulted from traffic brought in by brand mentions.

4. Focus on personalization

Personalization has come a long way since we were putting – Hi, {first_name} – into our emails and were calling it a day. 

Nowadays, specialized AI algorithms evaluate people’s behavior, the sites and social media communities they visit, the posts they like, comment, or share. Such a data-driven approach can help AI understand the underlying interests of each person and their probability to click or convert on certain offers. 

When you add a social media pixel onto your site, it can track how visitors are engaging with it, what types of products were of interest, and how much time they spent before making a decision or leaving. Here are two ways you can use pixel data:

  • Remarketing/Retargeting – sending targeted campaigns to people who have taken actions or shown interest in your brand. For example…
    • They’ve engaged with your ads or community before.
    • To lookalike audiences who have similar profiles to the ones who converted. 
    • To people who were interested in a product but didn’t buy it
  • Up-selling –  offering potential customers newer or more advanced versions of the product they’re about to buy.
  • Cross-selling – offering complementing products to people who have already purchased another. 

These are just some basic scenarios, after all, creativity is your only limitation! For example, KLM airlines ran a campaign called KLM Surprise. Their special team of psychologists and gift consultants scanned personal profiles of people who checked in on social media at Schiphol airport and provided them with personalized gifts chosen for each person, specifically based on their profiles. Following up, they created a mini-documentary showing people receiving their very special gifts. The campaign had massive traction on social media resulting in huge reach and engagement volumes.

One of the ways to get more personal with your audience is to stay on top of what’s happening in your niche, and BuzzSumo is a perfect tool to help with that. It can help find the most popular content in your industry and pick relevant influencers. 

While implementing personalization ideas, you may enhance your site with pop-ups, forms, and other types of content, helping to increase conversions. You may use OptinMonster for that. 

Still, all eyes on social media metrics

Personalization can really help sell, but you surely need to track your social media referral traffic in Google Analytics or other social media analytics tools as well. 

When analyzing data you get, pay attention to the following data-driven marketing metrics: 

  • Reach: some personalization options in social ads may quite narrow your audience. Therefore, you need to check the reach of your campaign to ensure a reasonable amount of people see it. Otherwise, your campaign just won’t be effective. 
  • Social media referral traffic: the whole point of using personalization is to improve the campaign’s effectiveness. You need to check the quality metrics of the social traffic to ensure you get relevant customers:
    • Bounce rate: what percentage of visitors leave the page without interacting with it.
    • Time on site: how much time visitors spend on site on average. 
  • Net Promoter Score (NPS): is a customer satisfaction metric that measures customer loyalty, satisfaction, and the chance customers will recommend you to others. Unlike other customer satisfaction metrics (CSAT and CES), NPS improves personalization and overall customer experience.
  • Conversions: check the conversion rate and the number of conversions you’re getting from the campaign and compare it to others to see how well it ranks up.

5. Test your content

Being a marketing professional, A/B testing or so-called content experiments are likely not a new concept. Similarly, testing is the same for content on social media. We never know how the audience will react to different content in comparison, so it is best to test the content ideas of one versus the other. Initially, it was only available for social ads or promoted posts on most platforms. Facebook includes a new feature allowing for organic social content testing and organic video post-testing tools. However, this new feature may still not be available to all since it seems to be rolling out gradually.

Social media profile analytics can give you some ideas about what to test. If you look into the Insights page of your Facebook page, for example, you will see the breakdown of your followers by age or region. So it may be worthwhile to test your content across different age groups or your main locations. 

The key to successful content testing lies in selecting the correct and objective tests according to your current business goals. For example, you want to test the virality of two different videos. Then your objective could be the amplification rate, i.e., the number of shares divided by the number of followers. Or you may want to test the interest of a particular article among two different audiences, and then your objective could be a scroll depth on that article. 

For example, Kettle & Fire has run a social test to determine which video version sells better and found out that the shorter one was 1.5x more effectively converting.

When testing different types of content on your socials, keep track of the following marketing metrics:

  • Reach: make sure that all variants of your content reached enough eyes so that your evaluation of what worked better is statistically justified. 
  • Followers: check the followers’ inflow from your campaign to ensure it is steady, and your campaign does not create too many unfollows (may happen with way too experimental content and lead to short-term effects).
  • Scroll depth: It tells how well the landing page is connected to the tested content and how well it corresponds to readers’ interests. 
  • Amplification Rate: ratio of shares per post to followers, which is an important indication of how shareable your posts are. People mostly share viral content, but how to create it? When you know your customer, it could be easier than you think. For example, a socks manufacturer shares on its Instagram profile a ridiculous video of the most popular places where their customers lose a second sock (yes, you could even make a quiz to get this information and create data-driven content).
  • Applause Rate: this is a percentage of total approval actions to the post divided by the total followers. Any actions that the user makes in social media are a signal of how valuable your content is. While likes and comments became common, sharing and adding the post to favorites indicates you did a great job creating this content.
  • Conversion Rate: measures the number of visitors who took actions on a page against total visits. While testing your content, mind all three rates to analyze the efficiency of a social media campaign.

Tools such as HubSpot can help you track the correct social media metrics described above.

Summary

The key to successful sales anywhere is to show your content to the right people. The big win of social media is that they have quite a lot of data on people’s interests and behaviors. They can personalize your ads or split-test your content to make sure you’re getting great results. So follow the guidelines from the above and see your social sales boost!

6 Influencer KPIs to Track for Every Campaign

6 Influencer marketing KPIs to track

Influencer marketing is one of the most powerful ways to grow a brand in social media. And to guarantee marketing success, you need to measure your results, which is why you need these influencer KPIs.

The marketing strategy involves tapping into the influence of others to help build trust in your brand within their communities. 

The difference between hiring a typical celebrity is that influencers are often looked at as regular consumers who are considered experts in their specific niches. That is, influencers accessible, relatable, and their followers trust their opinions — it’s the modern word-of-mouth. 

Coupled with its relative affordability and high returns of investment, it’s no wonder that companies are looking to increase their influencer marketing budget.

Why Do You Need Influencer KPIs?

While it’s clear that influencer marketing is on the rise, before launching your own influencer program or community, it’s essential to lay out a detailed measurement strategy. With fake followers costing brands an estimated 1 billion dollars, gone are the days of blindly paying influencers money for the sake of vanity metrics.

This means that it is more important than ever to set goal-oriented KPIs. Even before you decide on an influencer, ensure that you have the right tools to track them.

KPIs can be based on industry benchmarks or results from past campaigns. Like any other marketing campaign, measuring your return on investment (ROI) will determine success. 

Here are some top influencer marketing KPIs to analyze to help you quantify your campaign’s ROI so that you can expand your budget as your efforts succeed. 

1. Influencer Analysis – The #1 Influencer KPI

If we compare influencer marketing to paid social advertising, each influencer is similar to an ad unit. Influencers should not be considered programmable ad units by any means. But the most important KPI to measure just might be those of the influencers you wish to engage with. These will be critical for strategic influencer identification.

Thus, deciding on an influencer isn’t just about follower count. There are several factors to consider including follower demographics, average engagement rate (comments, likes, follows), frequency of posts, and frequency of publishing content that’s relevant to your brand.

Professional influencers usually have these numbers ready upon request. Make sure to gather as much data from all your top influencers of choice. From there, you can determine who can deliver the best results. 

Of course, you want to partner with someone who is a thought leader in your industry. Because no matter how good the numbers seem, if your audiences don’t match, then you won’t see a return on investment. 

GreatJones - Influencer KPI: Influencer Analysts

Cookware brand, Great Jones, found a perfect partner in Claire Saffitz, a professional pastry chef and Youtube personality. Aside from posting images of Claire using Great Jones products, the campaign included a virtual baking class and a feature on their website. 

This is an example of a spot-on audience match. Great Jones targets millennials who might find brands like All-Clad and Le Creuset out of reach — the same millennials who are likely to be familiar with Claire thanks to her (now defunct) YouTube show, Gourmet Makes. 

2. Brand Awareness 

One of the top reasons brands partner with influencers is for brand awareness. Before expecting customers and sales, the first thing you want to do is get your name out there, and one of the best ways to accomplish that is through an influencer marketing program. If the primary objective of your influencer marketing strategy is geared toward brand awareness, these are the KPIs to keep track of: 

  • Audience GrowthAudience growth or follower count is a strong indication of brand awareness. You can choose from a number of third-party apps to measure your follower growth during your campaign period. After the campaign ends, you can also check your mutual followers by visiting your influencer’s profile, tapping on “Followers” then on “Mutual”. This is more or less the number of followers you gained from the partnership. For a more accurate number, don’t forget to view your mutual followers before the campaign begins. 
  • Impressions & ReachOne of the advantages of partnering with influencers is their large audience base. This is your opportunity to reach an audience you otherwise wouldn’t have access to. Instagram defines “impressions” as the number of times a single user has seen your post, while “reach” is the total number of unique users who have seen a particular post. All these data can be accessed through Instagram Insights, which is available to all Instagram Business accounts. 
  • Brand name & Hashtag Mentions – How many times was your brand name or campaign hashtag mentioned during the campaign period? Mentions are a strong indication that your campaign is working. For real-time tracking of hashtags and mentions, you can use Keyhole

3. Social Engagement 

Engagement is one of the most important KPIs to track in order to determine the performance of your influencer marketing campaign. On Instagram, engagement is measured by the number of likes and comments on your campaign post or story/video views. 

Alexa Chung: Brand Awareness - Influencer Marketing KPI

While likes are easily countable and a sign of approval, comments are a clearer indication of active engagement. Comments show that your content left an impact, whether good or bad, this is a great starting point for community building.

You may see that your follower count has increased after running a campaign but engagement remained low. This may be a sign of a mismatch between your audience and the content you’re producing. 

Keyhole has a great resource on how to calculate engagement rates. The most basic and manual formula would be to divide your total number of engagements (likes + comments) by your follower count, then multiply that number by 100. Generally, the standard engagement rate across all industries is 1.60%. But it is better to calculate a benchmark engagement rate for your niche.

4. Click-Through-Rate

Click-Through-Rate or CTR measures the number of times a potential customer clicks on a particular link. If you’re running an influencer marketing campaign, you can assign custom links with tools like Google Campaign Manager. So, use custom links assigned to each of your influencers to help you track their individual performances. You can also create custom links for Instagram Stories, ads, and bios to find out which works best. 

Tracking your CTRs is extremely important. A low CTR shows that users aren’t landing on your website, which could mean a weak call-to-action or wrong targeting. A high CTR means you have more eyeballs on your website, bringing your audience lower into the sales funnel.

Pastry chef: CTR as an influencer KPI

If CTR rate is low, one reason could be the result of bad design. If you’re running a campaign on Instagram or in any social media platform, great visuals go a long way. To help you create eye-catching campaign creatives, use apps like Instasize.

Choose from a selection of fonts and filters to make your calls-to-action pop or play with vintage film overlays to add flair.  

5. Referral Traffic

Referral traffic is the number of people who land on your page from a specific link. CTR and Referral traffic are the same in a sense that you can track them through customized links or UTM parameters.

Referral marketing campaigns using influencers are usually run by e-commerce brands to encourage followers to shop with a special discount code or landing page. In this case, referral traffic can be measured by the number of times an item was purchased using the special code or page. 

Camille Juan - Influencer marketing referral traffic

Content creator, Camie Juan (@camiejuan) invites her followers to click on the link on her Instagram bio to enjoy a special discount on Glossier products. 

Referral traffic - Influencer Marketing KPI

The link leads to a customized Glossier landing page called a “Glossier Rep Page”. The skincare brand partners with multiple influencers who usually advertise their Rep Pages on their personal profiles. Influencers themselves can track the performance of their pages as they receive a commission per sale made. 

6. Sales

Naturally, any brand’s ultimate goal is to make a sale. You want to find the conversion rates when your influencer program is geared towards sales. How much of your website traffic converted into paying customers? I

Also, when goal is customer acquisition measure in downloads, subscriptions, or sign-ups. From there you can calculate for your cost per acquisition. 

Influencer KPIs per influencer 

At the end of your campaign, it is critical to assess how each of your chosen influencers contributed to your campaign KPIs. In essence, everything in marketing is about A/B testing, including those influencers who you work with, so that you can ascertain your high-performing influencers and know who to engage with for your future campaigns. 

That is, metrics such as unique links , engagements, and number of referrals can show performance per influencer. Hiring an influencer is not a sure-fire way to hit targets, like any other marketing effort, it may take some trial and error to attain success.

So, don’t be afraid to try it out with different influencers and see who works best with your brand. 

Is Your Influencer Marketing Program a Success? 

Once all is done, look back at your objectives for collaborating with influencers. Were you able to reach your target KPIs?

It is crucial to go back to your original goals to help you zoom in on the relevant metrics. Don’t make the mistake of having too many target KPIs to begin with. A program should be focused in order to get the best results.

Look at how much you spent versus how much you gained. Compare the results to other marketing campaigns on different channels. This will give you an idea whether your campaign was a success or not. 

Don’t forget: You can continue assessing the success of your influencer engagement by repurposing content as an organic post on your socials or website. Aside from testing organic response, it is also a great way to maximize your partnership and get your ROI. 


Neal Schaffer is an authority on helping innovative businesses digitally transform their sales and marketing. Founder of the digital marketing consultancy PDCA Social, Neal also teaches executives digital marketing at Rutgers Business School and the Irish Management Institute. He is also the author of four sales and marketing books, including Maximize Your Social (Wiley) and the recently published The Age of Influence (HarperCollins Leadership), a ground-breaking book redefining digital influence. Download a free preview of the Age of Influence here.   


Keyhole helps marketers make data-driven decisions while streamlining their social media management efforts. On top of campaign tracking, influencer marketing, and social listening, you can also schedule and publish your social media posts, all in one platform.

Our customers report that Keyhole saves them 5 hours a week on gathering and reporting data, which translates into over $7,000 saved every year. 

Start your free trial today and work smarter, not harder

Introducing Social Publishing

Keyhole Publishing - Automate your social media marketing

Social Publishing is available with all Keyhole plans and trials starting on March 17th, 2021

Smart social media marketers know that it’s important to stay on top of trends, collect and gather insights, create audience-pleasing content and publish regularly. And yes! Doing all these things can take a lot of time.

At Keyhole, we want to empower social media marketers to simplify their processes as much as possible and keep them focused on making data-driven decisions. This is why we are so proud to release Keyhole Publishing this Wednesday.

Now, on top of planning a data-driven strategy, managing your social media campaigns, influencer marketing, and social listening, you can also schedule and execute your social content strategy.

All in one platform.

This will save you and your team hours of manual work every week. Also, having a single multi-solution tool will help you reduce costs. So, you’re one step away from working smarter, faster, and more cost-efficiently.

Read on to learn more about our new social publishing feature or try it now!

Social publishing and scheduling in a heartbeat

Social media platforms supported with Keyhole social publishing

  1. Facebook
  2. Twitter
  3. Instagram

Manage multiple social media accounts on one platform

We know how much of a headache it is to manage many accounts. With Keyhole, you can schedule and publish all your posts from a single dashboard. Using fewer tools to use and simplifying your process will make it easier for you to focus on your social media strategy.

Also, Keyhole customers are able to publish and schedule unlimited posts each month from all the accounts included in their plan, which could be anywhere from three to unlimited. Talk to our team to customize your plan, and get a solution that fits your needs.

Social scheduling to optimize your posts for maximum engagement

Keyhole’s profile analytics will tell you the best dates, times, and content to post to maximize your engagement. However, these may not always the best times for you.

Now, you can schedule your posts from your desktop or through the mobile app at the most convenient time for you, and feel relieved that they will be published at the best time.

Keyhole Social publishing- social media optimization

Simplify team collaboration

At Keyhole we know that teamwork makes the dream work, and it often takes a village to perfect our social media post. Collaborate with your team within the platform to create and schedule posts.

Say buh-bye to sending multiple rough drafts back and forth.

Why use Keyhole’s social publishing?

If you’ve used Keyhole before, then you know that we are as user-friendly as it gets. You don’t have to re-train your team or follow lengthy tutorials to get the most out of Keyhole. If you don’t believe us, check it out for yourself with a free trial.

Aside from being user-friendly, Keyhole will help streamline your social media insights and your social media output. And so, you’ll be able to measure each post with side-view analytics and see how your posts impact your overall social media strategy.

Take it from one of our superstar customers:

With Keyhole Publishing, we have been able to schedule our campaigns in advance across our multiple social media accounts, without losing the focus of our primary goal. It saves us time and helps us work together to create opportunities for meaningful engagement with our audience. Working with a clear social media calendar has helped us see holes in our campaigns even before the launch date. I would recommend this to anyone who is trying to engage consistently online.

Adam Clarke, Digital Engagement Manager at The People’s Church

What are the best practices for scheduling and publishing posts?

  1. Use Keyhole’s profile analytics to inform your content strategy. Get the insights you need to get better results from your audience, including best times to post, best content type, best hashtags to use, and many more.
  2. Plan and visualize your social media content strategy. Having a calendar view will allow you to map out all your posts, which will help you see your strategy at work and identify content gaps.
  3. Collaborate with your team. Make use of your team’s talents, whether there is a pun genius, a creative wizard, or a spelling-bee champion – having more eyes on your content is always a good idea.
  4. Analyze your posts, repeat what works, and ditch what doesn’t. Keyhole gives you insights from each post, as well as your social strategy across platforms. This way, you’ll always find new opportunities to learn and improve.

Take advantage of Keyhole Social Publishing with any of our plans to manage your social media strategy and execution on the same platform. Do you need enterprise-grade profile analytics? Speak to our team and we’ll create the perfect plan for you.


Keyhole is a Social Listening & Influencer Marketing Solution that helps marketers unlock data-driven insights. On top of measuring and managing your social media efforts, Keyhole creates simple, beautiful reports that you can share with your team and clients. Start your free trial today and get the insights you need to get more from your social media strategy

Share of Voice: The ultimate social media performance measure

Curious how you shape up against your competitors on social media? Then you’ll want to track and calculate share of voice.

“Taste the relish to be found in competition — in having to put forth the best within you to match the deeds of risk-taking, hard-working competitors.”

Henry J. Kaiser

What is share of voice (SOV)?

Share of voice (SOV) measures what percentage of the market your brand owns relative to your competitors. It’s a measure of brand awareness.

SOV was originally used in traditional media to track a brand’s visibility in print, radio, and TV ads compared to their competitors, but it has since grown into the digital space.

SOV is now most commonly used in the context of paid digital advertising to track how often a brand appears for a certain keyword relative to its competitors, but it’s also used to track brand awareness of social media.

Why is share of voice important?

Knowing your share of voice lets you benchmark your current social standing and performance against your competitors. 

But more than allowing you to see where you rank, it also shows you how much space there is for growth, and allows you to gain insights from competitors who are already succeeding in the marketplace. 

How do I calculate share of voice?

Share of voice can be calculated for different social media metrics, whether it’s hashtag impressions, engagements, brand mentions, followers, or any other conceivable metric.

The share of voice formula is:

SOV = Your brand’s measures / Total market measures X 100%

How to calculate Share of Voice?  Social Media

For instance, you might want to know your share of voice in terms of social media conversations. Thus, you would track your brand mentions relative to those of your competitors and calculate your SOV.

To do so, you would add up your brand mentions and all the brand mentions of your competitors. You’d then divide your individual brand mentions by that total sum to get your SOV.

SOV (social media) = Your brand mentions / (Your brand mentions + Your competitors’ brand mentions) X 100%

How can you track share of voice?

While it’s technically possible to track SOV manually, it’s much easier to do so using a social media analytics tool. Remember, you need to track your brand’s mentions as well as all your major competitor’s. That is a lot of social listening work.

All of these brand awareness metrics can be easily tracked with Keyhole’s brand monitoring tools.
To start measuring your share of voice, try a free trial of Keyhole today.


Keyhole is a Social Media Listening & Online Monitoring Solution that helps marketers unlock data-driven business insights. Its visual dashboard is simple and shareable with your clients. Start your free trial today and get the metrics you need.

The 7 Most Important Social Media Marketing Metrics

Let’s be honest, if you’re a social media manager, you have a lot on your plate.

Your days are likely packed with creating killer content and writing compelling copy, or fielding comments and questions from users. On top of that, you must stay ahead of the algorithms.

We get it.

With all that said, you still need to make time in your busy day for comprehensive reporting that dissects your strategy.

Why do social media marketing metrics matter?

At the end of the day, you have to show why everything you do matters to someone that might not be as familiar with social media marketing metrics.

As social media platforms’ value to marketers increases, platforms are adding reporting features. These features will give some insight into how your posts are performing.

However, they do tend to err on the side of giving you more data than you might need. And remember, a lot of data does not translate into actionable insights.

So, how do you avoid information overload in your own reporting, while still maintaining a solid overview of your brand traction?

This list of social media marketing metrics will help you report based on your brand’s goals. Whether it is tracking your campaigns, your daily social media management across all platforms, etc. 

Content-based social media marketing metrics: Are your posting efforts working?

Social media is considered an art and a science for many reasons. Like any art form, you pour your time, effort, and soul into your content to release it into the vast social ether.

However, it takes a scientific approach to ensure that your post will cut through the noise and reach your target audience. These are the social media metrics that will measure your posts performance and success.

Post Reach and Impressions – Who is Seeing Your Content?

Social Media Marketing Metrics: Post Reach vs Post Impressions

Two of the most important social media marketing metrics to keep in mind are post reach and post impressions. These two metrics together will give you an idea of roughly how many people are seeing a given post.

While the two metrics are pretty similar in what they measure, there are some differences.  

Post reach refers to how many unique users were exposed to a piece of content. Post impressions refers to how many times your target audience has seen your content appear on their screen.

There is more to it than just keeping tabs on the visibility of your posts through the various social media.

Monitoring post reach and post impressions is also a great way to assess if you are posting at the right time of day. It also helps you know if you are using the right combination of hashtags or keywords in your posts.

Also, if you run social media ads or boost posts, it is important to track both organic and paid post reach and impressions. Both sets of metrics can give you a very different picture of where you stand in your respective channels.

Engagement Counts – Do They Like Your Stuff?

Now that you have a good idea of how many people are seeing your content, you will want to know how is engaging your content. To find this out, you need to measure your engagement.

Each social media platform has their own unique ways for users to interact. However, most fall into likes, reactions or favorites, retweets, shares, reposts, comments or replies. And these are what we call engagements.

Unless you are going through a total social media crisis, engagements are a great thing.

Engagements mean that your content is leading users out of their mindless scrolling to interact with your post. In this day and age, that in itself, is a feat worth celebrating.

With few exceptions, highly-engaging content will be boosted in the algorithm. Thus, it will result in a higher post reach and post impressions.

Moreover, you can benchmark your engagement in order to see how you perform versus your competition or measure your own performance over time.

To do this, calculate your engagement rate, which converts your engagements into a single number. Then, instead of counting the various engagements from all the platforms and accounts, you can create a single metric.

Brand Mentions – Are They Talking About You?

Social Media Marketing Metrics: Brand Mentions and Engagement

Brand mentions are another important social media marketing metric to include in your regular reports. As this can help you understand brand awareness and sentiment. It comes specially handy to alert you of PR situations ahead. 

While not as easy to measure as post reach, impressions, or engagement, brand mentions can often be more valuable.

For instance, if your brand that is being talked about positively on social media, or gaining user generated content, it will increase its digital footprint.

It is also a solid display of relevance.

Simply put: you could be earning customers without even posting anything.

As we previously stated, measuring brand mentions can be a little tricky unless you use a social listening tool like Keyhole, or other sentiment analysis tools. 

You can also search your brand’s hashtag using a hashtag analytics tool or the platform search engine. This will give you a general picture of how your brand is being discussed on social media.

Among many key features, Keyhole gives you straight-forward data, making it easy to understand and report your social media presence.  

Reply Time and Messaging – Keeping the Conversation Going

The social media marketing metrics we covered had to do with your content, but it is also important to monitor your direct interactions with social media users.  

The interactions you have on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram can be a powerful force in sealing sales conversions, or generating overall goodwill toward your brand.

However, the opposite is also possible. A delayed or carelessly-worded reply to a user’s comment or message can cause possibly cost you a customer. It can also reflect poorly on your brand.

Here are some segmented metrics you should keep in mind when creating your regular reporting.

Reply Time

When a customer messages you directly, asks a question on your page, or comments a query under a post, it is important to get them the information they need in a timely fashion. 

This attention to their needs will make them feel like you care about their particular issue. In fact, a positive customer interaction may lead to the customer promoting your brand on their social channels.

Facebook displays the average time it takes for your brand to respond to a direct message, which any page visitor can see. Knowing that your brand takes a long time to respond might discourage visitors from interacting with you. 

For both of these reasons, it is important to take stock of how long it takes for your team to respond adequately to a customer message. If it is taking over a day to get back to a user, it might be time to rearrange your priorities.

Perhaps creating a system to address messages once or twice daily, depending on the frequency of direct messages or post comments you are receiving. 

Tone, Questions, and Comments

Social Media Marketing Metrics: Reply Time

Beyond simply taking the time to address user messages in a timely manner, it can be very informative to monitor exactly what is being said. This should include the tone of the message, and any questions that may pop up.

Take notice of repeated questions, comments or concerns from your followers.  These can be an excellent opportunity to inform your content strategy

If, for example, a smartphone repair business has customers commenting or messaging questions regarding iPhone updates. This would be a great opportunity to write a blog or long-form social media post answering that question to stir-up some engagement.

Conversions – The End Goal

This goes without saying, but by far the most important metric in your reporting should be customer conversions from your social media presence.

There are plenty of guides out there to ace your social media commerce. Making sure you keep track of those successes can be key to informing your social media strategy going forward.

Are you selling a product or service? Do you have a newsletter? Is the end goal to drive downloads?

All of these can and should be tracked. Period.

If you are not tracking conversions, then why are you spending any time on social media marketing? This is the end goal, right? Return on investment.

The cool thing is you are able to track users from the time they click on your post, all the way through to when they become a customer. You can even tell where they fall off along the way if they do not finalize a transaction.

Social Media Metrics Conversions

This can all be accomplished through the use of Google Analytics and UTM tags tactically inserted in your links. We would explain that more in depth, but if you do not understand Google Analytics and UTM tags, here is a valuable resource on how to track that sort of engagement.

If you are active on Facebook or Instagram, they offer a tracking pixel called a Facebook Pixel that you can install on the back end of your website, and that allows for deeper social media analytics and reporting to be done on your Facebook dashboard. 

It also allows you to get a deeper understanding of your audience from folks who have visited your page or even completed a certain action on your page. This information can help you build targeted audiences for your paid ads

Don’t Get Lost in the Sauce

Monitoring and tracking your success – or lack thereof – in social media marketing can be an overwhelming experience. However, it pays serious dividends down the line in the form valuable insights to improve your organic and paid social media efforts.

Let’s give it the dramatic terms it deserves. In a realm that often feels ruled by the iron fist of algorithms, keeping track of these metrics gives you control of your social media destiny. 

There are many other social media marketing metrics that we didn’t touch upon. These include post times and follower growth rate.

Unless you have a dedicated team for social media, taking stock of the above social media metrics is more than enough to inform your strategy. The insights will be effective, and even impress stakeholders or clients.


Keyhole is a Social Media Listening & Online Monitoring Solution that helps marketers unlock data-driven business insights. Its visual dashboard is simple and shareable with your clients. Start your free trial today and get the metrics you need.

As always, if you need an intuitive and comprehensive suite of social media analytics to step up your social media marketing and crush your goals. We are here to help.

4 Tips to Find Micro Influencers on Instagram [to Boost Sales]

Updated on December, 2020.

Influencers have the power to win the hearts – and pockets – of consumers.

It is no surprise, then, that some of the biggest brands in the world are using influencer marketing to promote their products and services.

While influencer marketing is effective, not all brands have the budget to afford a top-tier influencer. Fortunately, there are micro influencers on whom these brands can rely.

Micro influencers are everyday consumers who possess a large social media following; generally between 1,000 and 10,000, though some have up to 100,000. Read more about Influencer Tiers.

These influencers offer better audience access and higher engagement than macro influencers (100K – 500K followers) at a fraction of the cost.

The social media platform where you can see amazing examples of micro influencer partnerships. This past year, brands like Hello Fresh and ASOS worked with micro influencers to run successful Instagram influencer marketing campaigns.

In this post, we’ll show you how to find micro influencers on Instagram. Also, we’ll demonstrate how you can use micro influencers to boost sales.

Jump Links:

Micro Influencers Should be Relevant to Your Niche

Have Specific Goals for Your Campaign

Showcase Your Product Experience with Micro Influencers

Give Influencers the Freedom to be Creative

Finding Instagram Influencers
Turn to Your Audience
Use Hashtags

Micro Influencers Should be Relevant to Your Niche

Influencer marketing can be used for achieving different goals, such as driving engagement, increasing brand awareness or boosting sales. To be able to achieve any of these goals, however, you must promote your content to a relevant audience.

This means that you must work with micro influencers who are relevant to your niche and have a significant following that is interested in that niche.

Ideally, you should find an influencer who is considered an expert in a subject that is relevant to your niche.

If you fail to do this, you won’t be able to reach your target audience and there will be no point in using influencers to promote your brand.

For example, in 2014, the world was confused when soccer-star Cristiano Ronaldo appeared in a Japanese facial fitness commercial. The commercial was a sensation, but none of that attention was focused at the product but rather at the awkwardness of this commercial.

Use social media monitoring tools to find influencers within your niche. These tools will allow you to listen to conversations and trends around your niche, and will help you identify the most influential voices around these topics.

For instance, Keyhole’s Influencer Tracking & Analytics feature, will not only help you surface influencers in your niche but also vet these accounts. This way you’ll be able to peek into the audiences and spot if an influencer has fake followers, or if their audience is truly engaged/influenced.

Influencer Marketing in 2021 - surface influencers

Wondering who are the top influencers for your brand?

Start a free trial with Keyhole and find out today!

Have Specific Goals for Your Campaign

As mentioned, micro influencer marketing can be used for a variety of goals. However, the tactics to achieve and measure these goals are different.

So it’s important to have your goals as the starting point of your campaign. This will determine how you picking an influencer to developing the campaign creatives.

If your goal is to drive engagement, then, that should be the deciding factor in choosing micro-influencers. Find influencers with a high engagement rate and use content that inspires engagement.

To promote engagement with your audiences, you can create a giveaway in partnership with the Instagram influencer of your choice. The influencer can give clear instructions of the rules, which can involve liking posts, tagging friends, or following your account(s).

If your goal is to create brand awareness because perhaps you’re working with a new product, then your focus should be on reach. The micro-influencers that you work with, in this case, should have impression rates.

Your campaign strategy should support your goal of amplifying reach. For example, contests, where your micro-influencer partners ask their audiences to share posts tagging your brand, would help grow reach.

Instagram Micro Influencers: Contests

If your goal is to drive sales, then design your campaign with the main goal of facilitating the purchase process. Also, make it easy to track the impact that your micro-influencer partner had on your sales. You can do this by providing a promo code for each Instagram influencer.

Also, if your budget allows, work with multiple micro-influencers within your niche. This will ensure higher reach within your target market and increase the chances of your customer base seeing your products multiple times.

Managing multiple influencers can be a real pain. However, if you use a tool like Keyhole you can monitor all of your influencers to gain instant access to performance insights and make sharing screenshots a thing of the past.

Keyhole will do one better and automate reports for each of your influencers with detailed performance and optimization metrics to determine your ROI.

Use Keyhole Influencer management to aggregate, compare and analyze your influencers’ impact on a single dashboard to get a bird’s eye view of your influencer strategy at play.

Track influencer metrics & measure campaign performance easily

Showcase Your Product Experience with Micro Influencers

When consumers see a compelling product content, they become interested in trying that product.

In order to increase the impact on your audience through micro influencers on Instagram, showcase their experiences while using your products. After all, Instagram is all about inspiring experiences.

This can compel followers to buy the product or service to enjoy the same experience themselves.

For example, you can have your Instagram influencer partner use it and share their reviews about it with the audience. Or perhaps, they can make a video of your product, share stories or simply post a picture with an inviting caption.

The goal here is to demonstrate how your product is enhancing an influencer’s experience. Since the influencer has its audience’s trust, it will create a compelling argument to try your products.

In a similar fashion, the micro influencer should show their audience how your services enhance his/her experience.

Instagram micro influencer campaign: showcase your product experience

Give Influencers the Freedom to be Creative

This is perhaps the most important thing to remember when working with micro influencers on Instagram.

The reason why micro influencers have managed to grow their audience is that their audience trusts them and they know what content attracts the audience.

They know their followers, so they know the type of content that will appeal to and engage their audience.

Instagram Micro Influencer Campaigns: Creativity

Let them give honest reviews about your product and allow them to promote your brand in their own way. There is nothing more powerful in influencer marketing having an influencer that can promote your product authentically.

If you tightly control the content that an Instagram influencer shares about your product or services, there is a risk of the audience losing their trust in the influencer due to inauthenticity.

If that happens, you won’t be able to successfully promote your brand.

So instead of controlling the influencer’s creative process, get more control of the performance process. In essence, let influencers do their thing but have a clear measurement of their performance – what is working and what isn’t.

Using influencer tracking and analytics, you can have full transparency on your influencers’ performance metrics and help them get more engagement.

Now that you know how to use micro-influencers, will you promote your brand through influencer marketing?

If so, there’s a missing piece of the puzzle.

We still haven’t discussed how to actually find influencers.

Finding Instagram Influencers

Turn to Your Audience

When searching for Instagram micro influencers, you should start with your current fan base since you know that a connection already exists.

Knowing that your followers already interested in your content, you should examine their interests. For instance, look at the pictures they post, the people they follow, etc.

Then, you should analyze similarities among your fan base.

Do they all follow the same influencer or brand? Does your analysis indicate that many of the Instagram pages you’ve looked at have common content themes?

By finding these common interests, you’ll be able to create a target lookalike audience to draw connections with others like them.

If any of your followers themselves has a large following, it is an added bonus for you.

Reach out to them and recommend an exchange of service or product for a review or Instagram post.

It’ll be easier to convince them as they are already familiar with your brand.

Use Hashtags

The best method to find the right influencer is to simply search for the correct hashtag or keyword that’s relevant to the product you’re trying to promote.

For example, if you want to promote a fashion product, you can run a hashtag search for queries like #ootd or #instafashion.

You can then determine how popular an influencer is by looking at how much engagement their posts are getting or their follower count.

Are they getting likes and comments on their posts, and if so, how consistently are they posting?

It is common to find influencers who have purchased their followers and likes, and barely get any authentic engagement on their posts. Avoid partnering with these types of influencers!

Tools like Keyhole offer hashtag tracking and keyword tracking. This can help you find influencers who already have published posts with your search terms.

If the content they are posting is relevant to your niche, you can reach out to them to market your products or services.

In addition, you can track all posts that contain your hashtags in real time.

This way you can analyze the engagement levels of the audience in your niche with influencers on Instagram. Then, you can determine the impact of influencers on their audience through engagement rate insights.

The hashtag you choose to search should be somewhat specific to reveal satisfactory results. For example, if you wish to search for Persian cats, a hashtag search around #Persiancats would yield much better results than just #cat alone.

Alex of VM Interactive says that the more specific your hashtag is, the more actionable results you’ll get. Moreover, with the help of an Instagram hashtag analytics tool, you can simplify your research.

You don’t need to stop at hashtags with Instagram anymore. You can now use specific keywords relevant to your niche to pinpoint conversations related to your business and target audience.


Keyhole is an end-to-end social media solution that empowers marketers to make data-driven decisions that impact their organizations. Keyhole supports marketing strategy with enterprise-grade social listening, influencer marketing analytics, and campaign tracking. Helping marketers work smarter, not harder, Keyhole saves marketers 5+ hours a week with simplified social publishing and automated reporting.

Start your free trial today and get the metrics you need.

5 Successful Instagram Influencer Marketing Campaigns from 2020 [Backed by Data]

Top 5 Instagram Influencer Marketing Campaigns from 2020 [Backed by Data]

Are you still on the fence abot whether Instagram influencer marketing campaigns are right for your brand?

Well, let’s think about it for a second. 

More often than not you will seek out the opinion of your friends and family before you purchase something. 

Why is that so?

Easy: Because you trust them. 

You probably pay more attention to a brand whenever you see a rave review from someone you know and admire – even if you’ve never met them in real life. 

So, it’s no wonder influencer marketing has been one of the biggest buzzwords in digital marketing for the past few years. It has especially become one of the most effective ways for brands to promote their products on Instagram. 

What is Influencer Marketing?
Why Instagram Influencer Marketing?

Top 5 Instagram Influencer Marketing Campaigns in 2020
UberEats, Chipotle and Hinge X Rebel Wilson
McDonald’s X Travis Scott
HelloFresh X Micro-influencers and Mindy Kaling
Biossance X JVN
ASOS X Micro-influencers (#asseenonme)

What to Look for In An Influencer?
Amplify Your Reach with Instagram Influencer Marketing

What Is Influencer Marketing?

Influencer marketing is a type of social media marketing strategy that sees brands collaborate with influencers.

We can define influencers as trusted content creators with the power to affect how their audience makes purchasing decisions. They also have a significant well-engaged following in their niche.

Influencers can endorse or make product mentions and share their opinions with their audience. So all a brand needs to do is find influencers on Instagram and other social media platforms who are a good fit and partner with them.

To show you influencer marketing in real action, today we take a look at the five most successful Instagram influencer marketing campaigns from 2020.

Each approach sheds light on proven techniques that you too can use and capitalize on the value of Instagram influencers. All these brands incorporated unique Instagram influencer campaigns in its social media strategy in 2020 and it paid off. 

But first, let’s discuss why you should implement Instagram influencer marketing.

Why Instagram Influencer Marketing Campaigns?

Instagram influencer marketing campaigns are exploding by the day and for a good reason. 

Influencer marketing ROI is stronger than ever. So it comes as no surprise that marketers believe that this industry is bound to double its worth to $15 billion by 2022

Already, this marketing tactic is yielding a $6.50 return on investment for every dollar spent.

According to social media influencer statistics, only 1% of millennials trust advertisements. But, 33% of them trust blog reviews when it comes to making purchases.

When purchasing products online around 40% of people will buy a product after seeing it used by an influencer on Instagram, Twitter, or YouTube.

And what do influencers think about their impact?

71% of influencers believe that what keeps their audience engaged is an honest and authentic voice. All these stats are a clear indication of why influencer marketing is red-hot right now. 

Now that you know the whats and whys of Instagram influencer marketing, let’s see them in action.

Track influencer metrics & measure campaign performance easily

How to Do Influencer Marketing Campaigns?

There are 10 steps to build a great influencer marketing campaign:

  1. Set your goals by visualizing what success would look like to determine your key metrics.
  2. Identify the target audience you want to reach through your influencer.
  3. Determine your budget to identify how many and what tier of influencer you can afford.
  4. Choose your channel(s).
  5. Choose an Influencer Tracking & Managing tool.
  6. Identify & choose your ideal influencers.
  7. Reach out to your influencers to reach an agreement.
  8. Track and evaluate the campaign and optimize when needed.
  9. Compensate your influencers fairly.
  10. Measure and evaluate the success of your campaign.

If you want a more detailed guide of what each of these steps look like, visit our influencer marketing guide.

Now, we understand that this seems like a lot! However, using a tool like Keyhole can take care of finding the perfect influencer, optimizing your influencers’ campaigns, tracking all your influencers’ performance in a single dashboard in real-time, and measuring the impact of your campaign.

Keyhole Influencer aMarketing & Analytics

The 5 Most Successful Instagram Influencer Campaign Examples from 2020

1. Uber Eats X Chipotle X Hinge X Rebel Wilson

What do Uber Eats, Chipotle, and Hinge have in common? 

Perhaps a desire to be loved by a certain demographic who is also looking for love – at least for cuffing season.

The three brands found the best way to reach young adults who use dating apps and food delivery services through a celebrity Instagram influencer campaign.. 

Using the “Chipotle Cuffing Season Menu” the brands ran a collective campaign that gave their customers a chance to win dating advice from the hilarious celebrity and “How to Be Single” star Rebel Wilson. 

The limited-time Chipotle Cuffing Season menu was available exclusively on Uber Eats and featured meals inspired by Hinge dating habits and Chipotle’s most popular dishes. 

To take advantage of their influencer relationship, the brands offered 10 lucky people who ordered from the exclusive menu a chance to win dating advice from Wilson.

2020 Instagram influencer campaigns: UberEats X Chipotle X Hinge X Rebel Wilson

In addition, Hinge added a new profile prompt in the app for daters to be able to connect over their specific Chipotle orders. Users also got $20 off their next 3 orders of Chipotle delivered using Uber Eats!

The campaign gave the brands’ target audience the incentive to order from the limited-time menu, increase Uber Eats orders, and at the same time, it raised awareness for Hinge’s brand.

Why it works?

Rebel Wilson is the ideal celebrity influencer to reach a young adult audience because she is authentic, and she is relatable. While we expect Internet influencers boast unattainable flawlessness, Wilson can point out her flaws with humour and celebrate them. 

In a similar way, the irony of having the “How to Be Single” actress give dating advice, allowed the brands to advertise Cuff Day in a fun, unexpected way. 

Each of the two ads on Wilson’s Instagram account was viewed over a million times. Much more than the average engagement that all these companies get on the platform.  

2. McDonald’s X Travis Scott (#cactusjack)

Popular fast-food brand, McDonald’s teamed up with Astroworld star Travis Scott to promote Scott’s favorite McDonald’s meal for a limited time.

The month-long deal featured a quarter-pounder with cheese, bacon, and lettuce. It also came with a medium order of fries and BBQ sauce dip.

As part of the campaign, Scott ran a new line of merchandise under his label, Cactus Jack, a line was inspired by McDonald’s. The merchandise included denim shorts, t-shirts, a nugget body pillow, hoodies, a burger tie, Egg McMuffin-branded boxers, and a Cactus Jack basketball jersey.

The two brands also supported charitable organizations throughout the partnership. 

Instagram influencer marketing campaigns in 2020: McDonald's X Travis Scott #cactusjack

Why it works?

With a following of over 73 million on Instagram, Scott’s posts had the potential to receive an average of 10 million views amplifying McDonald’s brand significantly. 

Not to mention, the amount of hype it would generate in social media. In the second half of September, the term Cactus Jack acquired 124.4K posts and over 426 million impressions.

Cactus Jack Impressions

3. HelloFresh X Micro-influencers and Mindy Kaling (#hellofreshpartner)

HelloFresh has a very photogenic product. The bright-green box, delightful pre-packaged ingredients, and tasty finished meals are a great fit for Instagram influencer marketing.  

Also, HelloFresh has fully embraced the value of influencer marketing and has mastered the art of finding micro-influencers on Instagram spanning across different fields.

The brand partners with thousands of such micro-influencers to promote its products within their target audience. So you are likely to see the #hellofreshpartner hashtag as you scroll your Instagram timeline. 

HelloFresh micro-influencer marketing campaign 2020

Occasionally, HelloFresh uses celebrity influencers. Recently, the brand partnered with actress and writer Mindy Kaling. The busy celebrity mom of two will share cooking tips and how to have fun while at it. 

For the partnership, Mindy will star in a four-episode video series titled “Meals with Mindy.” The series will begin airing across social media and digital ads in January 2021.

Each webisode will feature Mindy teaching viewers, in her humor-filled fashion, about the art of cooking. For the purpose of illustrating how HelloFresh helps her create easy, but delicious meals.

Instagram Influencer Marketing Campaigns: HelloFresh X various micro-influencers and Mindy Kaling

 Why it works?

The brand works with a variety of lifestyle, motherhood, and cooking influencers to share their experiences with HelloFresh on Instagram. All of which fall within their target market.

The influencers also ask their followers to sign up for the service using a unique promo code that offers them a discount on their first month. 

This kind of influencer marketing tactic drives sign-ups and makes it very easy for HelloFresh to track each influencer’s ROI.

HelloFresh, using a host of  Social Media analytics tools, can see which influencers generated the most sign-ups and can then use them for future campaigns.

4. Biossance X Jonathan Van Ness

The sustainable skincare brand Biossance has a secret weapon. And it is none other than Queer Eye and Gay of Thrones grooming guru Jonathan Van Ness.

The brand chose to work with the popular TV personality to promote the brand in an authentic way. JVN’s personable nature, approachable style to beauty expertise make him an ideal influencer.

He also shares a passion for sustainable beauty and is a champion for inclusivity. These happen to be the same values that the brand stands for. 

Instagram Influencer Campaigns in 2020: Biossance X JVN

The Fab 5 member is no stranger to brand partnerships. Of course, every brand would like to be promoted in a way that is authentic, fun, fabulous and unique – and JVN succeeds in doing all these and more.

It also helps that JVN has over 5.3m followers, an engagement rate of 373% and an average of 200.7K engagements per post. In other words, he is a unicorn among influencers.

Why it works?

While JVN is the influencer version of a dream boat, it doesn’t necessarily mean that he could work with any brand. One of the reasons why he is so influential is because of his fierce commitment to his personal brand.

For Biossance, it is a match made in heaven. As we mentioned, the brand’s values align perfectly with JVN’s values.

JVN is also an expert authority on beauty products. He can give you compelling reasons to buy Biossance products in his own words and based on his own expertise. 

This is the ideal in Instagram influencer marketing: to find an influencer that is knowledgeable and passionate about your brand, and can express so in their own words.

You don’t need an influencer matchmaker to find the right influencer for your brand, especially if you use a social listening tool like Keyhole. Keyhole will surface the most influential voices that mention your brand or the conversations you are tracking, and let you take a peek at their followers, engagement and sentiment.

5. ASOS X Micro-influencers (#asseenonme)

ASOS typically attracts all shoppers of all ages, sizes and backgrounds thanks to its approach to inclusivity. 

The brand’s Instagram influencer marketing campaign strategy is to collaborate with a wide audience through its Insider influencer program. In this program, ASOS partners with 29 influencers who have distinctive looks and communities.

Instagram Influencer marketing campaigns 2020: Asos

Each of these influencers has ASOS-branded Instagram and Pinterest accounts. ASOS also has a dedicated landing page that features their style guides. In doing so, ASOS makes its brand welcoming for all shoppers. 

The influencers offer so many different styles to choose from. Which in turn, makes it easy for every ASOS shopper to find their perfect look. 

instagram influencer campaigns in 2020: asos

Why it works?

This tactic is effective because shoppers trust the content. That is because it comes from real, stylish people – and not directly from the brand.

Having such a diverse audience is any brand’s dream. However, it can be difficult for brands to maintain a strong identity, while representing a wide range of individuals.

ASOS uses its Instagram influencer marketing to do this flawlessly. First, it identified the essence of the brand that appeals to its wide audience: fashion and style. Then, it found key influencers that can inspire this love for fashion and style to their own communities.

“With Keyhole at your disposal, if someone has a large following and they’re mentioning your keyword, you’ll be the first one to know about this person and the first one to reach out.” Neil Patel, 4 Best Tools for Social Listening

Finding The Right Influencers for Your Instagram Influencer Campaign

You don’t want to work with just any influencer, you want to work with the one that will bring you the highest ROI. 

Also, there’s more to an influencer’s success than their follower count.

To find the right one, these are qualities (and the metrics) you need to focus on when finding the right influencer for your brand.

1. Brand fit

Before you pick an influencer as yourself this question: What type of influencer is best for my campaign? Who is the JVN to your Biossance?

The answer that you come up with will help you pick the influencer that is a brand fit. 

When deciding your brand fit, you want to focus on influencers who have a genuine interest in your niche and line of products. This way, your influencer partnership will be more authentic and genuine from a consumer’s perspective.

Basically, the better the fit, the more likely your influencer is to inspire trust. In return, you will have more ROI potential from your campaign.

With a social listening tool, you can surface the most influential accounts for your followers, as well as organic brand advocates, which are the most likely to be a good fit for your brand.

Influencer Marketing in 2021 - surface influencers

Try Keyhole social listening today and find the best influencers for your brand.

2. Engagement rate

As we mentioned before, influence is more than just the follower count. A high number of followers does not necessarily result in high ROI. You want an influencer with highly engaged followers. 

The more engaged an audience is the more likely they are to be influenced. Take advantage of a profile analytics tool and pay close attention to engagement rates, reach, and engagement per post. 

3. Clear communication

Once you start pitching a potential influencer, take into account how they handle communication. Do they take eons to respond to you? Do they give you the information you ask for? Are they prioritizing your brand? 

Clear communication is vital to success in Instagram influencer marketing campaigns. Especially, when it comes to your goal expectations and results. Using an influencer tracking and analytics tool will track goal-based metrics and will give you transparency into your influencer’s performance metrics and will let you .

4. Genuine love for your brand

At the end of the day, you want to work with an individual who authentically loves your brand. See if the influencer has been promoting your brand or products like yours without a sponsorship. 

You want to partner with someone who will genuinely promote your product and not just see your campaign as another form of income. Pay attention to the influencer’s messaging and see if it could match your own.

Amplify Your Reach with Instagram Influencer Marketing Campaigns

Influencer marketing is not a new concept and it isn’t going away anytime soon. 

As you can see from these campaigns, when done correctly, the potential of this digital marketing tactic is huge. 

People are continuously paying attention to influencers who are just like them and not just celebrities, family, or friends. 

By finding the right influencer for your brand, you get the power to bring your brand to new heights. Now you have the tools and examples of how to do this the right way.

So go on and run your own Instagram influencer marketing campaign in 2021. We can’t wait to feature your brand as one of our success stories!


Keyhole is a Social Media Listening & Brand Monitoring Solution that helps marketers unlock data-driven business insights. Its visual dashboard is simple and shareable with your clients. Start your free trial today and get the metrics you need.

Miss Topsy? Here are the Top 3 Topsy Alternatives

It’s no longer news; Topsy is dead.

Back in 2015, Apple shut the tool down after purchasing it for $200 million two years before. Hardly anyone saw the end of Topsy coming, but well, it happened. 

So what now? Of course, you can’t abandon your social media marketing job because Topsy is no more.

You need a Topsy alternative that can perform the same function it did – or go beyond it.

And you’re at just the right place to find that; here are the top three Topsy alternatives you can use:

Read moreMiss Topsy? Here are the Top 3 Topsy Alternatives

Life is short and the internet is vast.